Response to the Report of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission Taskforce

The Response to the Report of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission Taskforce will conduct a review of archival policies and best practices existent across the country and identify potential barriers to reconciliation efforts between the Canadian archival community and Indigenous record keepers. With such a review in hand, the Taskforce will then work in collaboration with Indigenous communities to create an actionable response to this research which will become the foundation for a reconciliation framework for Canadian archives.

For more information, please view our Project Charter, Action Plan and Methodology Overview.

Lead: Erica Hernández-Read (University of Northern British Columbia)


  • Raymond Frogner, Director of Archives, National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation
  • Krista McCracken, Archives Supervisor,  Arthur A. Wishart Library and Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre, Algoma University
  • Marthe Brown, Archivist, Laurentian University
  • Raegan Swanson, Archival Advisor, Council of Archives New Brunswick
  • Marianne McLean, Principal, Eigg Road Consulting
  • Emma Wright, Archives Manager, Archives, Access & Digital, RBCM
  • Nichole Vonk, General Council Archivist, The United Church of Canada Archives
  • Jennifer Jansen, Records Analyst, Tsawwassen First Nation
  • Marnie Burnham, Strategic Advisor, Public Services Branch
    Library and Archives Canada / Government of Canada

Latest News:

***Until July 21, 2017, the taskforce is inviting all members of the Canadian archival community to participate in a survey on Reconciliation Action and Awareness in Canadian Archives.  For more information, click here.***